Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Alexandrian Public Library. Board meetings are open to the public, and are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:45 p.m. in the Library meeting room B. Other special meetings may be held when necessary.

The board's function is to set library policy and oversee the expenditure of funds as representatives of the public's interest. Library board members are appointed to terms of four years, and may serve no more than four consecutive terms. The board also has their own set of board policies.

The day-to-day administration of the library is delegated by the Board to the Library Director, whose responsibility is to carry out the policies set by the Board.

Board of Trustees:

Appointing Body and Terms
Tammy Weatherford Posey County Council - December 2015
Lynn Clark Metropolitan School District of Mt Vernon - December 2016
Don Snyder Posey County Commissioners - December 2013
Jo Adams Metropolitan School District of North Posey - December 2014
Jill Gerton Posey County Commissioners - December 2014
Paul Swanson Metropolitan School District of Mt Vernon - December 2016
Harold Morgan Posey County Council - December 2014

Board Policies:

Each policy is in a separate Word document file. To download, click on the link and choose to either open the file or save the file to your computer. Once the download is complete, you may open the file.

APL Volunteer Policy (.doc)
Challenged Materials and Censorship Policy (.doc)
Internet Use Policy (.doc)
Investment Policy (.doc)
Nepotism Policy (.doc)
Public Forum Policy (.doc)
Confidentiality of Public Records Policy (.doc)
Purchasing Policy (.doc)
Staff Complaints Policy (.doc)
APL Board Code of Ethics (.doc)


Alexandrian Public Library 115 West Fifth Street Mount Vernon, IN 47620 (812) 838.3286 | site map | feedback | copyright